Strips an’ Sweets–Hold the Gluten, Dairy, and Eggs


The other night I almost threw away 3 bags of corn chips that had nothing left except crumbs. This was completely against my Dutch heritage, I’ll have you know. I was halfway to the garbage when Gail says, “Hey, we should save those and make chicken strips.” I shrugged. “Alright,” I replied. So I combined the crumbs into 1 bag and stashed them back in the pantry. Well, we got those little crumbs out again a couple nights ago. We were feeling adventurous, and we decided to go for it. So I took two large chicken breasts out of the fridge, and proceeded to cut them into…you guessed it–strips! All of the strips are less than 1″ square. I try to cut them into equal thicknesses, so they cook evenly. Next, I used Gail’s egg-replacer, which is gluten-free, to make a batter. You can use corn starch, flour, or egg to make this, but Gail has a few dietary requirements that we try to follow. I added a little bit of seasoning to the batter for good measure. Next I crunched up the crumbs a bit more, and combined them in a bowl with salt, pepper, Montreal Chicken seasoning, and red pepper flakes. I like flavor in my food, so I always use a lot of seasoning. When Gail cooks, she knows this so she’ll make sure to season the food. She’ll sprinkle the food with one spice or another and say, “That’s enough isn’t it?” I’ll smile at her, saunter over to the pan, and dump in twice the amount she did. “Perfect,” I’ll say. But I digress. Back to the strips.  Next I begin dipping the chicken strips into the batter, then roll ’em around in the crumb mixture, then onto our stoneware baking sheet. In the meantime, Gail has cut a few sweet potatoes into french fry-size pieces, and brushed bacon grease over them. Yes, bacon grease. We save it, because it makes everything taste amazing. No, we aren’t fat. She adds a little salt and pepper, then places them into a cast iron pan in a single layer. The pan and the baking sheet both go into the oven at 350-375 for about 12-15 minutes. When the timer goes off, we pull ’em out and eat ’em. I’m gonna go ahead and say it…you should really try this at your house. However, I’m not responsible if you forget to use an oven mitt or something silly like that. One side-note: these things are, like the title suggests, gluten-, dairy-, and egg-free. Some people eat this way by choice, others by necessity. Those who eat this way by choice know that it can be hard to find good things to eat. So, this little experiment we did might be right up your alley, because not only is it GF, DF, and EF, it’s delicious! One minor funny: as we were eating these, I said to Gail, “This is awesome, these are vegan!” She gives me a funny look and says, “Um, this is chicken…” I laugh, “Oh…right.”

A Little Bit of Yum

2 thoughts on “Strips an’ Sweets–Hold the Gluten, Dairy, and Eggs

Leave a Reply

